What to eat? What not to eat?

3

October 26, 2012 by sgacke

It can get really confusing and overwhelming when first starting your journey or changing your lifestyle when it comes to food.  I know when I first started I got really confused on what was healthy and what was not healthy.  Things that I thought were healthy, turned out really bad for me.  I found that when I had somebody tell me what was clean and healthy and what was not, it made it so much easier.  
 
What exactly is clean eating?  Matt explains it best!  Take a look! 
I’ll wait…..
Ok, awesome!  Now that you know what clean eating is, take a look at my food list below.  It should get you started.  Be creative, make your own recipes.  There are tons of recipes that can be made out of this! 
 
 
Here is a list of clean/healthy foods:
Proteins
Skinless, boneless chicken breast
Tuna (water packed)
White meat chicken (water packed)
Fish (Cod, Halibut, Salmon, Sea Bass, Tilapia)
Extra Lean Ground Beef
Shrimp
Lean Buffalo Steak
Egg whites/Eggs
Protein Powder
Steak
Extra Lean Ground Turkey
Turkey Breast slices
 
Good Carbs
Oatmeal
Sweet Potatoes
Beans (kidney, pinto, black)
Oat Bran Cereal
Cream of Wheat
Multigrain Hot Cereal
Whole Wheat Bread
Whole Wheat Pasta
Brown Rice
Potatoes (new, red, baking)
Whole Wheat Pitas
Quinoa
Couscous
Whole Wheat Tortillas/Corn Tortillas
 
Fibrous Carbs & Veggies
(Remember:  Fresh, then frozen, last canned)
Broccoli
Spinach
Learfy Lettuce
Asparagus
Bell Peppers
String Beans
Brussel Sprouts
Pickles
Cabbage
Cauliflower
Mushrooms
Celery
Spourts
Cucumber
Onions
Garlic
Tomatoes
Squash
Pumpkin
Zucchini
Spaghetti Squash
 
Fruit
(Eat bananas, strawberries, peaches, or plums sparingly because of a lot of natural sugar)
(Dried fruit is loaded with sugar)
Grapes
Dates
Apples
Oranges
Melons
Lemons/Limes
Berries (Blue and rasp)
Grapefruit
 
Healthy Fats
Almond Butter/Natural Peanut Butter
Olive Oil/Safflower Oil/Coconut Oil/Flaxseed Oil
Avocado
Olives
Nuts
 
Dairy & Eggs
Low Fat Cottage Cheese
Eggs
Low or Non Fat Milk
Non Fat yogurt (watch sugar)
Fat Free String Cheese
Fat Free Cream Cheese
 
Beverages
Water
Tea
Coffee
 
Condiments & Misc.
Fat Free Mayonnaise
Ketchup (No Fructose)
Reduced Sodium Soy Sauce
Reduced Sodium Teriyaki Sauce
Balsamic Vinegar
Balsamic/Raspberry Vinaigrette
Salsa/Fresh Pico De Gallo
Steak Sauce
Low Sugar Jelly
Chili Past
Tomato Paste
Mustard (yellow/dijon)
Extracts
Low Sodium Fat Free Broth
Tomato Sauce/Puree/Paste
Worcestershire Sauce
Fat Free Cooking Spray
Unsweetened Applesauce
Truvia/Stevia/Ideal
 
Herbs/Spices
I think pretty muchall herbs and spices can be used just watch for sodium intake.  Be Creative!  🙂
 
 
3 thoughts on “What to eat? What not to eat?

  1. Jenna says:

    Great info, girlie!! I never knew about the extra sugar in the above fruits you mentioned! Good to know! Spa love!!

    • sgacke says:

      Absolutely! I have a lot of people that ask me everyday where to start and that they are confused. I was just like that when I first started and still learning new things everyday. So I thought this would be helpful to many. SPA <3!

  2. I already do most of that stuff! That’s so exciting. I need to real in my table sugar intake. I LOVE the stuff. I have to work on the eating more often too. I like that I can still eat what I like. Diets make me so mad all the time. A hungry and angry me isn’t a good combo. Haha Thanks friend!!

Leave a Reply

Bulu Box Ambassador

About me!

Navy wife. Mom. 20something. Fitness. Health. Food.

SPA

