Meal Prepping Made Easy

3

November 13, 2012 by sgacke

Are you too busy during the week to cook everyday/night?  Do you not have time to make your 5-6 meals a day?  Here are some tips and tricks to help you with time!
 
Planning a week’s worth of budget-friendly, filling, healthy food is as easy as (1) grocery shop, (2) prep the main ingredients and store them in the fridge, and (3) cook/bake/grill main ingredients on Sunday.
 
When grocery shopping for my meals, I first get a week’s menu together that consists of breakfast, lunch, dinner, and 3 snacks a day.  I write down everything I need on my grocery list before I go to the store that way I know I will not be missing anything.
 
When I prep my meals on Sunday for the week, I make sure to chop, grind, dice, halve, marinate, rinse, drain, slice, toast, zest, and juice everything and put it in tupperware in the fridge that way when I put my meals together everything is already done.  I just have to pull it out of the fridge, open the container, and use it. 
 
For breakfast, lunch, and 2 snacks I make sure to have those meals completely cooked and ready to go with me whenever I have to work or be at school.  This way I can take it with me and warm it up if need be. 
 
If you eat eggs for one of your meals, whisk these the night before that way in the morning you can just throw them in the pain and scramble.  🙂  Also, if you like hard boiled eggs, do these while prepping on Sunday.  This can be done in the oven or in a pot with water. 
 
A few tips that come to mind when doing my food prepping:
  • Invest in a cabinet full of storage containers!  It will help keep food fresher longer than plastic wrap. 
  • Portion out all lunches, breakfast, dinners, snacks
  • Freeze extra portions (I do this with soups, chilis, lasagnas, etc)
  • Wash and prep your produce and store in separate containers
  • Cook a couple of big batches that way you can just heat it up and eat it. 
  • Make items such as veggies and meats which you can change the tastes with a huge variety of spices and seasonings
  • Learn your quanitites that you will eat during the week to make this work for you. 
People say that don’t have time to cook, food prep, eat healthy but yet I see them on social media all day.  Maybe take an few hours out of one day and prep your food!  It will help you in the long run and you will thank yourself later for it! 
3 thoughts on “Meal Prepping Made Easy

  1. Jenna says:

    Great tips!! I need to be a better prepper and planner bc i just end up eating the same things everyday over and over! Lol spa ❤

  2. these are some awesome tips! sometimes I feel like meal planning is so hard I can always plan until like Thursday but the rest of the week is screwed haha!

  3. Caroline says:

    I try to spend a few hours on sunday afternoon prepping everything for the week! It’s so easy to just warm up food during the week or grab a new container of food for lunch at work! It’s fast, easy, and deliciously healthy!

Leave a Reply

Bulu Box Ambassador

About me!

Navy wife. Mom. 20something. Fitness. Health. Food.

SPA

